What you need to know about the vaping laws in Baltimore

Listen to this article

(flickr Photo by Sarah Johnson) 

Vaping has skyrocketed into popularity, with over 10 million people vaping in the United States. With vaping rising in popularity all over the country and the world, there’s never been a better time to learn the laws about vaping in your area.

The good news for people who vape is that vaping laws in Baltimore are not as strict as other vaping laws in Maryland. This is somewhat surprising, given that the Baltimore city council has curbed vaping in the past.

Users of vaping devices can rest assured that although there are regulations, vaping and the sale of vaping paraphernalia is still legal.

This has been especially good news for shops in the city that sell vaping devices, also known as mods, to Baltimore locals. The sale of e-liquid, the juice poured into vaping devices, also remains legal.

Despite regulation, Baltimore smoke shops are able to keep their doors open. In fact, it would seem that the most trouble they face comes from com rival smoke shops.

Their customers will need to know when and where they’re allowed to vape unless they want to face fines or tickets. So any Baltimore vapers will need to read through the rules listed here so they don’t end up in trouble.

Who Can Vape?

In Maryland, you have to be at least 18 years or older to buy tobacco products. That is unless the governor decides to sign a new bill raising the minimum age from 18 to 21.

This new law is a reaction to the growing trend of teenagers getting ahold of Juul brand “pod mods”, even though the Juul helps adults quit smoking.

Unfortunately, the high volume of nicotine did allow people to quit smoking, but only because there was more nicotine in a single Juul than there was in a traditional cigarette.

This led to teenage smokers switching to Juuls and the fad has caught on in a big way.

In any case, the new law would exempt members of the military, allowing 18-year-old veterans to buy tobacco.

Baltimore laws also classify the sale of vaping devices and paraphernalia as a misdemeanor offense on the retailer’s part. The child would face a criminal possession charge.

When Are People Not Allowed to Vape? 

In most places in Maryland, it is illegal to use a vaping device indoors, such as in bars and restaurants. However, this is not the case in Baltimore.

Perhaps because of the strength of the vaping industry in Baltimore, people can vape inside bars, restaurants, video lottery establishments, and smoke shops.

People are also allowed to drive while they vape, but not while there are children under the age of eight in the vehicle.

The extent of damage a vape can cause to a person is still unknown, so it’s better to play it safe rather than sorry when it comes to exposing children to the vapors from vapes.

Even with this in mind, the bill that would give a $100 fine to drivers or passengers caught in violation only passed 20-27 in the Maryland legislature.

Possession of an electronic cigarette or anything associated with it is also illegal. This means that children caught with something like a container of vape juice can get charged with possession. They’ll face the legal consequences.

The majority of Baltimore vape laws, like in many other places, prevent children from exposure to nicotine or tobacco.

What Do Vaping Laws in Baltimore Say about Vaping CBD? 

Assuming that the vaping device is not used by anyone under the legal age or in a circumstance where it’s illegal, using CBD oil with a vaping device is legal.

CBD is not the psychoactive ingredient in marijuana, so it is legal to vape with it. If you combine too much THC with your CBD, you can get in trouble with the law.

Most CBD products do come with trace amounts of THC to “activate” the effects of the CBD but at low concentrations, they are hard to detect. THC at sufficiently low volumes does not cause users to get high.

Terpenes, an ingredient used to cause neurological responses in users, but do not get them high, are also legal in Baltimore.

Because marijuana is currently illegal, adults also turn to vape pods to get a nicotine buzz. This has caused products like the Suorin Drop to sell like hotcakes in Maryland and the rest of the country.

Despite their heightened capacity for nicotine, pod mod vapes like the Suorin Drop and the Juul remain legal for adult purchase.

Nicotine products are commonly associated with addiction, so it’s important to know how much nicotine is best in your personal vaping device. Many studies show that vaping is healthier than smoking, but nicotine still carries some health risks.

Do People Need a License To Sell Vape Paraphernalia? 

Vendors of tobacco and vaping products do need a license to sell in Maryland. Selling vaping devices and tobacco products to minors will cause the state to revoke your license.

Vendors who sell to children will also face fines and criminal sanctions.

Vendors also have to apply for another special license to sell ENDS or electronic nicotine delivery systems. To apply for these licenses, a vendor must pay a $200 application fee for a tobacco license.

Vaping laws in Maryland also state that vendors must pay $30 to the state and $25 to the county their shop is in.

They must pay an additional $25 dollar fee for a license to sell ENDS and must pay 25$ annually to keep their license.

Vendors also put labels on their products stating that they contain nicotine, and are not recommended for pregnant women, women who may become pregnant, and breastfeeding mothers.

These laws were created in response to the growing number of young people vaping. In fact, teens in Maryland have stopped smoking as much, and now prefer the high concentration of nicotine in Juuls.

Having a chemical addiction to nicotine is not good for young people, as it can lead to other problems later in life. Baltimore can only hope these new laws will get teens away from nicotine.

The Future of Baltimore Vape Laws 

The decriminalization of marijuana has been a boon for vaping industries all over the country. Federal marijuana legalization is looming right around the corner, for the country, so vaping could become even more popular than it already is.

In states where vaping is legal, many vendors have made their fortune selling liquid THC to customers. THC is the psychoactive ingredient in weed responsible for its trademark euphoria.

If marijuana was ever legalized federally, the vaping industry would almost be struggling to meet the demand for marijuana vaping devices.

Combining THC with CBD and terpenes would make vaping from an electronic device almost the same as smoking a regular marijuana cigarette.

Furthermore, if a company like Juul was able to combine high nicotine content with marijuana, its usage among teens would explode.

This is why it’s important that children stay away from vaping devices until they’re old enough to understand the consequences.

The human brain doesn’t finish developing until age 25. So exposure to addictive chemicals while the brain is malleable and hormonal could permanently rewire the brain.

Only time will tell if regulations will be able to stop kids from vaping.

Always Remember to Vape Safely 

Whether you’re a veteran vaper or someone only starting out, knowing the rules of your locale is always important.

This is especially true for any parents out there who have small children at home. If your vaping device contains nicotine, you need to keep your kids away from any vaping device at all times.

Baltimore vaping laws also include things like Juuls when it comes to prohibiting adults from buying illicit substances for minors.

The exact laws vary by state and county, but supplying minors with things like cigarettes or alcohol can be a misdemeanor or a felony.

Remember not to buy vapes for kids, and to vape in moderation, especially in their presence. The research remains inconclusive, but the important thing is to minimize the risk of exposing kids to dangerous chemicals.

Although there’s no evidence to suggest what happens after years of daily vaping, people should be cautious about vaping every day.

Until there’s definitive evidence that vaping doesn’t cause any harm, limiting how much you vape every day can save you from trouble with the law and at the doctor.

For more of the latest news about vaping laws in Baltimore, be sure to check for the latest here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.