Senate votes to overturn Trump’s emergency declaration

Listen to this article

WASHINGTON – The Senate Thursday afternoon approved a resolution to terminate  President Donald Trump’s emergency declaration to build a wall along the U.S.-Mexico border.

The resolution passed 59-41.

All 47 Democrats voted yes as did 12 Republicans. They include Sens. Mitt Romney and Mike Lee (Utah), Rand Paul (Ky.), Susan Collins (Maine), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), Lamar Alexander (Tenn.), Jerry Moran (Kan.), Rob Portman (Ohio), Pat Toomey (Pa.) Roy Blunt (Mo.), Marco Rubio (Fla.) and Roger Wicker (Miss.).

The Democratic-controlled House of Representatives approved the resolution last month.

Trump has said he will veto the resolution. There does not appear to be enough support in Congress to override a veto.

Trump issued the declaration last month in conjunction with the signing of legislation to keep the government funded through Sep. 30.

Under the declaration, the administration may be able to secure about $8 billion for the wall by taking money from “unobligated” funds.

Sixteen state attorneys general and the American Civil Liberties Union have filed lawsuits, arguing the declaration is unconstitutional.

Article I, Sec. 9, Clause 7 of the U.S. Constitution states: “No Money shall be drawn from the Treasury, but in Consequence of Appropriations made by Law.”

The administration has asked for an additional $8.6 billion in wall funding in its FY 2020 budget request.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) have said the request for additional wall money is a non-starter.

This article is republished with permission from Talk Media News