RHOC mom, Gina Kirschenheiter has confirmed that her driver’s license was suspended following her DUI arrest on the 31st of January 2019. She pleaded guilty and admitted this during her recent appearance on BravoTV. She implored the general public to not make the same mistakes she made, driving under the influence.
Kirschenheiter admitted that in the days following her arrest, she was terrified to drive because she thought that as a result of her arrest, she no longer had a license. However, the reality show star says that after she retained a lawyer, she was told she could keep driving until her court date.
Just likeKirschenheiter, many individuals in Orange County are often confused about what to do when arrested for a DUI. In California, a person accused of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol has to defend themselves against both the Department of Motor Vehicle’s attempt to suspend their license and against criminal charges. This is because a DUI arrest for alcohol would immediately trigger a process in the DMV that can lead to the suspension of the accused person’s driver’s license
At this point, citizens would usually hire a lawyer who is an expert in OC DUI Law An effective lawyer would be able to get an accused person out of jail as soon as possible so that they can go on with everyday life while trying to fight the charge.
It is necessary to contact the DMV within 10 days of the arrest to get a hearing to keep your license. If one requests a hearing early enough, they would be permitted to drive while awaiting the hearing.
Even though Kirschenheiter was permitted to drive while waiting for her court date, she confirmed during her interview, that she lost her driver’s license after the hearing; her license had been suspended for one year as a result of the misdemeanor.
The star was returning from a mom’s night out on January 31st, 2019 when she was stopped for a suspected traffic violation and placed under arrest by law enforcement officers in Rancho Santa Margarita, California. She faced two charges, one misdemeanor count of driving after having alcohol and one misdemeanor count of operating a vehicle while having a blood-alcohol level higher than 0.08 percent and she pled guilty. For her sentence, Kirschenheiter was mandated by the court to participate in community service for twenty hours, alongside a six-month alcohol program. She was also sentenced to three years’ informal probation.
In California, a first DUI conviction is almost always charged as a misdemeanor. The offender faces penalties such as fines, jail time, license suspension and probation. First-time offenders are usually permitted to apply for a restricted license that allows them to drive to and from a few important places like work and school.
After the incident, Kirschenheiter had issued an apology on her Instagram page; she stated that she intends to change for the better moving forward.